A time I craved

This used to be a time I craved, surrounding darkness caging me in with the silent embrace of someone unknown.

But lately that unknown someone is becoming unwanted, and the surrounding darkness, that cage I needed, no longer brought comfort with its silence. Instead it bred claustrophobia.

Trapped in a cage, no bird will sing but many will cry, and those who don’t cry grow heavy. Stones pile in their stomachs and they never fly again.

There’s a terror in that unknown embrace, now, a terror that leaves me shaking and blurs my vision, and it’s so confusing because there’s no outlet, nothing for me to release nowhere. So I’ll sink deeper into my vices, searching for a key, or better yet, a hammer to break the stones and smash the cage and free me from this stranger’s embrace.

Leave a Reply

